About

Personal life

Hi! In real life, my name is Simone Aonzo, online I’m “packmad”.

I’m Italian. I was born in 1988 in Savona where I still live today.

But I studied, lived, and worked in Genova. I consider it one of the most magical (video) cities I’ve ever seen.

So, I have always woken up with the scent of the sea!

I’m (proudly) father of twins, Francesco and Alessandro, they were born in 2010. I discovered a new world through their eyes.

I was a pro K1 fighter until 2015. I won two belts: amateur European Champion and professional Italian Champion (video). I am still training, but just for eating the Italian food without getting fatter 🙂

Study / Work

I’ve been working since I was a teenager: waiter, lifeguard, bricklayer, salesperson, and system/network administrator!

After I’ve set aside enough money, I started again to study, and I achieved the Master of Science in Computer Science (cum laude) at the University of Genoa in 2015.

Then, I worked for one year as an Android Reverse Engineer at Talos until 2017. But it wasn’t my way. I felt the need for a new challenge.

So, I started a Ph.D. Computer Science and Systems Engineering of the Department of Computer Science, Bioengineering, Robotics and Systems Engineering at University of Genoa and (finally) I’ve realized that my future will be in academic research.

Listen, Morty, I hate to break it to you, but what people call “love” is just a chemical reaction that compels animals to breed. It hits hard, Morty, then it slowly fades, leaving you stranded in a failing marriage. I did it. Your parents are gonna do it. Break the cycle, Morty. Rise above. Focus on science. [Rick and Morty]

I’ve finished my PhD in January 2020, and it has been a challenging journey, but there have been results.

And? At the moment, I’m a Postdoctoral Researcher at Eurecom under the supervision of Davide Balzarotti.

Personal interests

I have a lot of hobbies, depending on the season (and sometimes I sleep):

  • reading
  • cooking
  • motorbike rides
  • yoga/meditation
  • CTF competitions
  • poker and chess (very noob level)
  • sport: boxing, CrossFit, running, swimming

… but for me, only one life isn’t enough; I want to do a lot more!!!